Sprout Social pricing, price hikes and cheaper alternatives

Sprout Social (sproutsocial.com) is a social media management tool. Per-seat subscription with four self-serve tiers that add features and profile limits; Enterprise is quoted by sales.. No free plan.

What Sprout Social costs

  • 1 user, 5 profiles: $99/mo (Essentials $99/seat/mo monthly x 1 seat. 5 profiles included; advanced post scheduler, multi-network and multimedia publishing included. Sprout Queue is capped at 10 messages/day, above the roughly 2/day this scenario needs. No post caps are published.)
  • 3 users, 15 profiles: $1,197/mo (Professional $399/seat/mo monthly x 3 seats = 1197. Standard and Essentials allow 5 profiles and no profile add-on price is published, so 15 profiles needs Professional (unlimited profiles). Assumes the profile allowance is account-wide; the page does not state this.)
  • 5 users, 50 profiles: $1,995/mo (Professional $399/seat/mo monthly x 5 seats = 1995 (unlimited profiles). No volume tiers, minimum seats or add-on pricing are published.)

Plan compared: Essentials, 1 seat, monthly billing. Prices are USD per month on monthly billing (annual-only plans divided by 12). The headline is 1 user scheduling about 60 posts a month to 5 profiles of one brand; the team figure is 3 users with 3 brands (15 profiles) and the agency figure 5 users with 10 client brands (50 profiles).

What Sprout Social does

Core: WhatsApp & social messaging (partly), Multiple brands & stores (partly), Scheduling & content calendar, Analytics & reports, Unified social inbox (partly), Social listening.

Important: Workflows & routing (partly), SLAs, reporting & CSAT (partly), Instagram & Facebook publishing (partly), LinkedIn, X & Threads (partly), Queues & evergreen recycling (partly), AI content assistant (partly), Approvals & collaboration (partly), SSO & compliance (partly).

Also has: AI copilot for support agents (partly), Agent mobile apps (partly), Slack & Teams customer channels (partly), Customer profiles & context (partly), Integrations & API (partly), Security & compliance (partly), TikTok & YouTube video (partly), Pinterest publishing (partly), Design & media library (partly), Client & agency tools (partly), Link-in-bio page (partly), Mobile apps (partly), Paid ad campaign management (partly), API & integrations (partly).

Sprout Social price hikes

Cheaper alternatives to Sprout Social

At 1 user with 5 profiles, Sprout Social costs $99/mo. 2 social media management tools cost less:

  • Later: $25/mo (Starter plan, monthly billing (1 user, one 8-profile social set)), covers 70% of Sprout Social; missing or partial: Analytics & reports (partly), Social listening, Queues & evergreen recycling, SSO & compliance, API & integrations
  • Buffer: $30/mo (Essentials, 5 channels, monthly billing), covers 77% of Sprout Social; missing or partial: Analytics & reports (partly), Social listening, SSO & compliance, Paid ad campaign management

Sprout Social alternatives: 3 social media management tools compared, at every size.

Other kinds of products that cover part of Sprout Social

  • Semrush (SEO tools): covers 45% of Sprout Social; missing or partial: Scheduling & content calendar (partly), Analytics & reports (partly), Social listening (partly), LinkedIn, X & Threads, Approvals & collaboration

Every change we logged

  • Jan 12, 2026 · Limits cut: The Professional Services and Employee Advocacy add-ons were limited to Standard and higher, so Essentials buyers lost access to them.

Sources

Pricing page: sproutsocial.com/pricing. Prices last checked Oct 16, 2026. Prices are from the official pricing page plan data and FAQ, which give per-seat monthly prices of $99, $249, $399 and $499 (checked 2026-10-17); there is no free plan, only a 30-day trial. Team3 and agency10 assume the 5-profile allowance is account-wide, which the page does not state, and the price-increase web search could not run after the search budget ran out, so the change log comes from PricingSaaS only.