WordPress.com pricing, price hikes and cheaper alternatives

WordPress.com (wordpress.com) is a website builder. Tiered subscription (Free, Personal, Premium, Business, Commerce), billed monthly or annually, with higher tiers adding storage, store features and lower payment fees.. Free plan: Free plan: WordPress.com subdomain only (no custom domain), 1 GB storage, ads shown to visitors..

What WordPress.com costs

  • 1 site: $9/mo (Personal monthly $9. Free has no custom domain; Personal lets you connect a domain you own, and the FAQ does not limit that to annual plans. The free first-year domain offer is ignored.)
  • Blog/CMS site: $9/mo (Personal monthly $9: unlimited posts, unrestricted bandwidth, no ads for visitors (footer credit not stated on the page).)
  • Online store: $9/mo (Personal monthly $9 plus WooCommerce (free plugin). The official FAQ says plugin installation is available on every paid plan. Personal charges an 8% fee on standard payments; the page does not state the fee for WooCommerce payments on Personal.)

Plan compared: Personal plan, monthly billing: $9/mo (US$4/mo if billed annually).. Prices are USD per month on monthly billing (annual-only plans divided by 12) for one site on your own domain. Domain registration, payment processing fees and paid apps are not included.

What WordPress.com does

Core: Online store, Built-in checkout, App & theme marketplace, Visual live-preview editing, Marketer page building, Extensions and integrations, WordPress management (partly), No-code website builder, AI site generation, Blog & post publishing, App & plugin marketplace.

Important: Product catalog & variants, Open source & self-hosting, Mobile admin app, Editorial workflow and scheduling (partly), Media library and image CDN (partly), Open source and self-hosting, Email on your domain (partly), Domain registration, Automated site backups (partly), CDN & page caching, Firewall & malware protection, Store-ready performance (partly), Agency & reseller tools (partly), 24/7 expert support (partly), Pixel-level design control (partly), Managed site hosting, SEO controls (partly), Custom code & dev API, Export & self-hosting.

Also has: Digital download sales, Recurring billing (partly), Shipping rates & labels (partly), Sales tax & VAT (partly), Multi-currency pricing (partly), In-person POS payments (partly), Marketplace & social selling (partly), Built-in marketing tools (partly), B2B & wholesale (partly), Headless commerce APIs, AI store assistant (partly), Inventory tracking (partly), Structured content modeling (partly), Content delivery API (partly), Multi-language localization (partly), Granular roles and permissions (partly), Versions and environments (partly), Content models as code (partly), App backend features (partly), AI content assistance (partly), On-site personalization (partly), Real-time collaboration (partly), Security and compliance (partly), Staging sites (partly), SSH, Git & WP-CLI (partly), VPS & cloud upgrades (partly), Free site migrations (partly), Paid memberships & subscriptions, Lead capture forms, Animations & interactions (partly), Team collaboration & roles (partly), Agency & client tools (partly), Multilingual website (partly), Email marketing broadcasts (partly), Photo galleries & proofing (partly), Mobile management app.

WordPress.com price hikes

  • WordPress.com cut its free tier · Apr 2022
    Free plan storage fell from 3 GB to 500 MB and a 10,000-visit monthly cap was added. Within days storage rose to 1 GB and the caps were removed; Free is still 1 GB on the current page.

Alternatives to WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the cheapest website builder we track at one site on your own domain. The others:

WordPress.com alternatives: 4 website builders compared, at every size.

Other kinds of products that cover part of WordPress.com

  • Shopify (E-commerce platforms): covers 94% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Export & self-hosting (partly), Paid memberships & subscriptions (partly), Lead capture forms (partly)
  • Bolt.new (AI app builders): covers 66% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Online store (partly), No-code website builder (partly), Blog & post publishing (partly), App & plugin marketplace (partly), Export & self-hosting (partly)
  • Hostinger (Web & WordPress hosting): covers 66% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Blog & post publishing (partly), App & plugin marketplace (partly), Custom code & dev API (partly), Export & self-hosting (partly), Paid memberships & subscriptions
  • Lovable (AI app builders): covers 66% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Online store (partly), No-code website builder (partly), Blog & post publishing (partly), App & plugin marketplace (partly), Paid memberships & subscriptions (partly)
  • Leadpages (Landing pages & funnels): covers 63% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Online store (partly), Blog & post publishing (partly), App & plugin marketplace (partly), Managed site hosting (partly), Custom code & dev API (partly)
  • Ghost(Pro) (Newsletter): covers 59% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Online store (partly), No-code website builder (partly), AI site generation, App & plugin marketplace (partly), Managed site hosting (partly)
  • MailerLite (Newsletter): covers 59% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Online store (partly), No-code website builder (partly), Blog & post publishing (partly), App & plugin marketplace (partly), Managed site hosting (partly)
  • v0 (AI app builders): covers 57% of WordPress.com; missing or partial: Online store (partly), No-code website builder (partly), Blog & post publishing (partly), App & plugin marketplace (partly), SEO controls

Every change we logged

  • Apr 2022 · Free tier cut: Free plan storage fell from 3 GB to 500 MB and a 10,000-visit monthly cap was added. Within days storage rose to 1 GB and the caps were removed; Free is still 1 GB on the current page.
  • Apr 2022 · Repriced: Five plans were cut to two: Free and a single Pro tier at $180 a year with no monthly billing (about $15 a month). WP Tavern's July 21, 2022 headline says WordPress.com ended the experiment and reverted; no monthly price for 2022-2026 is sourced, so history holds only the current price.

Sources

Pricing page: wordpress.com/pricing. Prices last checked Oct 16, 2026. Checked against the official pricing page on 2026-10-17 (Personal $9/mo monthly, $4/mo annual). The store price depends on the FAQ's statement that plugin installation is available on every paid plan; it would be $40 if WooCommerce were limited to Business. Not recorded: a CostBench claim of an April 25, 2026 rise from $45 to $70, because its linked changelog has no such entry and the figures match Commerce's annual and monthly prices, so it is likely a billing-term mix-up.