Sanity pricing, price hikes and cheaper alternatives
Sanity (sanity.io) is a headless CMS. Per seat on the Growth plan ($15 per seat per month, monthly billing only), plus pay-as-you-go overage for API requests, bandwidth and storage, with custom Enterprise pricing.. Free plan: Free: $0 forever, up to 20 seats, 2 public datasets, 10k documents, 100GB assets and bandwidth; embeddings capped at 500 queries a month..
What Sanity costs
- 3 users: $45/mo (Growth $15 x 3 seats = $45, with all 3 users counted as seats. No overage if at least half of the 500k requests are CDN-cached, since 250k API + 1m CDN requests are included; if all 500k were uncached API calls, add 250k at $1 per 25k = $10 (total $55). Bandwidth 50GB fits the 100GB included. Free ($0) not used because the pricing page does not state that it allows commercial production use.)
- 10 users: $198/mo (Growth $15 x 10 seats = $150. Bandwidth 250GB: 150GB over the 100GB included at $0.30/GB = $45. Requests 2M vs 1.25M included (250k API + 1m CDN): cheapest split is 1.75M CDN-cached and 250k uncached, so 750k over bought as CDN at $1 per 250k = $3. Total $198. Overage would be $4 if all 2M were CDN-cached and $70 if all were uncached API calls (total $265).)
Plan compared: Growth plan at $15 per seat per month, 3 seats.. Prices are USD per month on monthly billing (annual-only plans divided by 12) for one production project on the vendor's managed cloud, including seats and any overage needed for the stated usage. Products sold only as self-hosted software are priced on their license (often $0), and hosting is not included.
What Sanity does
Core: Structured content modeling, Content delivery API, Content models as code.
Important: Visual live-preview editing, Multi-language localization, Editorial workflow and scheduling (partly), Granular roles and permissions (partly), Versions and environments (partly), Media library and image CDN, Extensions and integrations, AI content assistance (partly), Security and compliance.
Also has: Marketer page building (partly), Open source and self-hosting (partly), App backend features (partly), Real-time collaboration (partly).
Sanity price hikes
- Sanity quietly cut what you get · Jul 4, 2026
SAML SSO add-on, priced at $1,399 a month, discontinued for Growth. SSO is now included on Enterprise only. - Sanity cut its free tier · Apr 24, 2026
Free plan embeddings (semantic search) capped at 500 queries a month. Before, embeddings were included in full on every plan.
Alternatives to Sanity
Sanity is the cheapest headless CMS we track at a small site with 3 users. The others:
- Strapi: $59/mo
- Contentful: $300/mo
Sanity alternatives: 2 headless CMSs compared, at every size.
Other kinds of products that cover part of Sanity
- WordPress.com (Website builders): covers 76% of Sanity; missing or partial: Structured content modeling (partly), Content delivery API (partly), Content models as code (partly), Multi-language localization (partly), Media library and image CDN (partly)
- Webflow (Website builders): covers 65% of Sanity; missing or partial: Structured content modeling (partly), Content delivery API (partly), Content models as code, Multi-language localization (partly), Media library and image CDN (partly)
- Ghost(Pro) (Newsletter): covers 48% of Sanity; missing or partial: Structured content modeling (partly), Content delivery API (partly), Content models as code, Visual live-preview editing (partly), Multi-language localization (partly)
Every change we logged
- Jul 4, 2026 · Limits cut: SAML SSO add-on, priced at $1,399 a month, discontinued for Growth. SSO is now included on Enterprise only.
- May 12, 2026 · Price cut: AI credits raised 10x on all plans at the same prices: 100 to 1,000 a month on Free and Growth, 500 to 5,000 on Enterprise. Plan prices unchanged.
- Apr 24, 2026 · Limits cut: Growth embeddings capped at 1,000 queries a month, with $1.50 per 1,000 above that. The $15 seat price did not change.
- Apr 24, 2026 · Free tier cut: Free plan embeddings (semantic search) capped at 500 queries a month. Before, embeddings were included in full on every plan.
Sources
Pricing page: sanity.io/pricing. Prices last checked Oct 16, 2026. Growth's $15 seat price and limits are confirmed on the official pricing page and on PricingSaaS, whose change log starts 2025-12-29 and shows no list-price change, so earlier changes are unverified. Free plan not counted because commercial production use is not stated on the pricing page.