ReadMe pricing, price hikes and cheaper alternatives
ReadMe (readme.com) is a developer docs platform. Tiered plans: a free Starter tier with 1 admin, Pro at $250/mo billed annually with 5 admins plus $20 per extra admin, and quote-only Enterprise.. Free plan: Starter is free ($0): 1 admin, 1 project, 1 version, custom domain included..
What ReadMe costs
- 3 editors: $250/mo (Pro base $250/mo billed annually. That is the only billing term shown, so annual/12 = $250. Its 5 included admins cover the 3 editors, so no seat charge. The page does not list extra-admin pricing for Starter; if Starter sells extra admins at $20 each, Starter + 2 would be $40, so verify. Page-count and page-view limits are not stated.)
- 10 editors: $350/mo (Pro $250/mo (annual/12) + 5 extra admins x $20 = $350/mo, since Pro includes 5 of the 10 editors. Extra-admin price taken as monthly (PricingSaaS states $20/month). If Starter sells extra admins, Starter + 9 x $20 = $180 would be cheaper; not verified. Pro's 500-page and 100,000-view limits are not stated.)
Plan compared: Pro with 5 admins included (free Starter allows only 1 admin login).. Prices are USD per month on monthly billing (annual-only plans divided by 12) for one public docs site on your own domain with guides and an API reference generated from an OpenAPI file, edited by 3 or 10 people, including any per-site, per-seat and add-on fees. Free plans count when they allow commercial use and cover the whole scenario; a 'Powered by' badge is allowed.
What ReadMe does
Core: Public help center & docs, OpenAPI API reference, Interactive API playground.
Important: Git-based content, Visual web editor, Previews and review workflow, Docs versioning, Multi-language docs, AI answers for customers, AI writing and upkeep, LLM-ready docs and MCP, Private and gated docs (partly), Personalized developer portal (partly), Docs content analytics (partly), SSO and compliance (partly).
Also has: SDK generation (partly), API change tracking (partly), Open source and self-hosting (partly).
ReadMe price hikes
- ReadMe cut its free tier · Apr 13, 2026
The free Starter plan was cut from 5 admins to 1, so a team of 3 editors no longer fits on it.
Cheaper alternatives to ReadMe
At a docs site with 3 editors, ReadMe costs $250/mo. 2 developer docs platforms cost less:
- Mintlify: free (Starter (free) plan, 3 of its 5 editor seats), covers 100% of ReadMe
- GitBook: $101/mo (Essential, 3 editors: $65/site + 3 x $12/seat per month, annual-billed rate), covers 88% of ReadMe; missing or partial: Interactive API playground (partly), Personalized developer portal, Open source and self-hosting
ReadMe alternatives: 2 developer docs platforms compared, at every size.
Every change we logged
- Apr 13, 2026 · Repriced: Four tiers became three: Startup ($79/mo) and Business ($349/mo) were dropped, and Pro launched at $250/mo billed annually with 5 admins. The entry paid price rose from $79 to $250, but the $79 billing term is not stated, so the comparison is not like-for-like.
- Apr 13, 2026 · Free tier cut: The free Starter plan was cut from 5 admins to 1, so a team of 3 editors no longer fits on it.
Sources
Pricing page: readme.com/pricing. Prices last checked Oct 16, 2026. Read from summaries of the official pricing page and PricingSaaS. Pro shows only an annual-billed price, and neither source gives editor, page or page-view limits or says whether Starter sells extra admins; the price-increase WebSearch was blocked by the per-turn search budget and a targeted re-check hit the session limit, so price-change sourcing rests on PricingSaaS alone.