ElevenLabs pricing, price hikes and cheaper alternatives

ElevenLabs (elevenlabs.io) is a AI voice generator. Monthly subscriptions with a monthly credit or character allowance, plus API usage billed per 1,000 characters ($0.04 for Flash/Turbo, $0.08 for v2 Multilingual, v3 and v4).. Free plan: 10k credits a month; free accounts may use outputs for non-commercial purposes only..

What ElevenLabs costs

  • 60 min voiceover: $6/mo (Starter $6/mo on monthly billing. Its API allowance (about 150k Flash/Turbo characters, inferred from an unlabeled table) covers 60,000 characters. Studio credits are not used because the Studio rate for Flash is not stated. Pay-as-you-go would be 60 x $0.04 = $2.40, but it is not used because the Terms do not address API or pay-as-you-go commercial use.)
  • Entry plan: $6/mo (Starter at $6/mo on monthly billing ($5/mo billed annually). It is the cheapest paid plan with a commercial license, and its API allowance lets the user export audio. The free plan does not qualify because free accounts are non-commercial under the Terms.)
  • 1M API chars: $40/mo (1M characters at Flash/Turbo, the cheapest current model at $0.04 per 1K. Starter $6 plus 850k overage characters at $0.04 per 1K ($34) = $40, assuming about 150k Flash/Turbo characters in its allowance (inferred). Creator $22 plus 450k overage characters ($18) also gives $40. Pure pay-as-you-go is also about $40, but its commercial use is not stated, so it is not used as the basis.)

Plan compared: Starter, $6/mo on monthly billing (its API allowance covers the 60,000 characters).. Prices are USD per month on monthly billing (annual-only plans are the annual price divided by 12): the cost of 60 minutes of commercially licensed voiceover a month, the cheapest plan that lets you download and use AI speech commercially, and the cost of 1 million characters a month through the API. A dash means the product does not do that job.

What ElevenLabs does

Core: Text-to-speech studio, Multilingual speech, Voice cloning from recordings, Text-to-speech API.

Important: Large stock voice library, Professional voice cloning, Emotion and pronunciation control, Speech-to-speech voice changer, AI video dubbing, Long-form multi-voice projects, Voiceover synced to video, Low-latency streaming speech, AI phone agent, Generative sound effects.

Also has: Voice design from a prompt, Read-aloud listening (partly), Community voice marketplace, Team workspace (partly), Security and compliance.

ElevenLabs price hikes

Cheaper alternatives to ElevenLabs

At 60 minutes of commercial voiceover a month, ElevenLabs costs $6/mo. 1 AI voice generator costs less:

  • Murf AI: $0.60/mo (API pay-as-you-go: Falcon TTS at $0.01/min x 60 min), covers 62% of ElevenLabs; missing or partial: Text-to-speech studio (partly), Voice cloning from recordings (partly), Professional voice cloning (partly), Emotion and pronunciation control (partly), AI video dubbing (partly)

ElevenLabs alternatives: 2 AI voice generators compared, at every size.

Every change we logged

  • Jun 29, 2026 · Free tier cut: Video was taken off the free plan, which now has Image only. Starter gained Image & Video.
  • Apr 2026 · Repriced: The free plan dropped Agents and Automated Dubbing and added Image & Video, Voice Design, Sound Effects and Productions. Scale gained Team Collaboration.
  • Apr 2026 · Price cut: Creator credits rose from 100k to 121k and Pro credits from 500k to 600k, with no price change listed.
  • Apr 2026 · Repriced: Scale fell from $330 to $299 a month with credits cut from 2M to 1.8M. Business fell from $1,320 to $990 with credits cut from 11M to 6M and seats raised from 5 to 10.
  • Apr 2026 · Price increase: Starter's monthly price rose 20%, from $5 to $6, while its 30k monthly credits stayed the same.

Sources

Pricing page: elevenlabs.io/pricing. Prices last checked Oct 16, 2026. Checked the official pricing, API and Terms pages, the docs model list and the PricingSaaS diff (PricingSaaS dates the Starter change Apr 20 or Apr 22). The hour and API points rest on an inferred Starter API allowance and on leaving out pay-as-you-go API, whose commercial use the Terms do not address; a CostBench snippet that reverses the Business price direction is contradicted by the diff and the current page.