CapCut pricing, price hikes and cheaper alternatives

CapCut (capcut.com) is a video editor. Free plan plus Pro and Ultra subscriptions billed monthly or yearly, per-seat Teams, and extra AI credits sold separately.. Free plan: No-cost templates and basic editing up to 1080p; some templates and exports carry a CapCut watermark or closing clip..

What CapCut costs

  • 1 creator: $19.99/mo (Pro $19.99/mo monthly billing (official page). Free is not counted: it exports up to 1080p, but some templates and exports carry a watermark or CapCut closing clip and some 1080p options are now paywalled (third-party guide, May 2026; Newsweek). Standard (about $9.99/mo per that guide) may qualify, but it is not on CapCut's pricing page and its storage and AI allowances are not published, so it cannot be checked against the allowance test.)
  • 4K export: $19.99/mo (Pro $19.99/mo. A third-party guide says Pro exports 4K/60fps/HDR with no watermark (CapCut's page does not state export resolution), so pro4k equals solo.)
  • 5-person team: $60/mo (Teams 5 seats x $12/month per seat = $60/mo (official page, confirmed on a second fetch). Each seat gets Pro-level features and 1,200 AI credits. Per-seat prices on the page vary oddly by seat count (2 seats $12.49, 7 seats $12, 10 and 30 seats $20), so confirm the 5-seat figure at sign-in.)

Plan compared: Pro plan at $19.99/month, monthly billing. Monthly price on monthly billing of the cheapest plan (free plans count) that exports watermark-free 1080p with enough allowance for four 10-minute videos from 2 hours of footage a month; annual-only plans are divided by 12 and perpetual-only licences spread over 36 months.

What CapCut does

Core: Scene and template editor (partly), Mobile apps, Multi-track timeline editing, Templates & stock assets, Mobile editing app.

Important: Generative video footage, Image-to-video animation, Native audio generation, AI avatar presenter videos, AI video dubbing (partly), Prompt to finished video (partly), AI video ads (partly), Transcript-based editing (partly), Auto captions & transcripts (partly), Long-to-short social clips (partly), AI audio & video cleanup, Native desktop app, Social publishing & scheduling (partly).

Also has: Camera and keyframe control (partly), Consistent multi-shot stories (partly), AI editing of real footage (partly), Motion and performance transfer (partly), Multiple third-party models (partly), Personal avatar clone (partly), AI voices and languages (partly), Teams, SSO and compliance (partly), Pro color, VFX & audio (partly), Animated explainer creation (partly), Screen & camera recording (partly), Browser-based editor (partly), Plugins & app ecosystem (partly).

CapCut price hikes

Cheaper alternatives to CapCut

At 1 creator, CapCut costs $19.99/mo. 2 video editors cost less:

  • DaVinci Resolve: free (DaVinci Resolve 21 free version (no paid plan needed)), covers 54% of CapCut; missing or partial: Templates & stock assets (partly), Mobile editing app, Generative video footage, AI avatar presenter videos, AI video dubbing
  • Apple Creator Studio (Final Cut Pro): $12.99/mo (Standard subscription at $12.99/month billed monthly (US list price; trial and promos ignored).), covers 56% of CapCut; missing or partial: Templates & stock assets (partly), Mobile editing app (partly), Generative video footage, AI avatar presenter videos, AI video dubbing

CapCut alternatives: 4 video editors compared, at every size.

Other kinds of products that cover part of CapCut

  • Adobe Creative Cloud (Design tools): covers 91% of CapCut; missing or partial: AI avatar presenter videos (partly), AI audio & video cleanup (partly), Screen & camera recording
  • Canva (Design tools): covers 63% of CapCut; missing or partial: Multi-track timeline editing (partly), Generative video footage (partly), AI avatar presenter videos, AI video dubbing, Transcript-based editing

Every change we logged

  • Feb 21, 2026 · Price increase: The Hong Kong annual subscription rose about 155%, from HK$388 to HK$988, effective 2026-02-21, per unwire.hk. The plan name is not stated, and this is an HKD regional change, not the US price.
  • Feb 2026 · Free tier cut: Some 1080p export options that were free now require payment, per a February 2026 Newsweek report. CapCut's pricing page does not state current free-plan export limits.
  • Jan 2026 · Price increase: A CapCut web article dated January 21 lists Pro at $19.99/month or $179.99/year. Legacy annual subscribers were reported to face $179.99 renewals from about February 20, 2026, with no formal CapCut announcement.

Sources

Pricing page: capcut.com/pricing. Prices last checked Oct 16, 2026. Plan prices come from CapCut's official pricing page (USD list prices, confirmed on a second fetch), while export and watermark rules come from a May 2026 third-party guide and a Newsweek report because CapCut's pages omit them. PricingSaaS has no page for CapCut (404), so the change history relies on news reports.