Flagship API rates rose 40% with GPT-5.2
Input and output rates rose 40% in the GPT-5.2 listing, which the source says was GPT-5 renamed; the flagship workload went from $32.50 to $45.50 a month. The before rates are inferred from the 40% rise, not stated on the page.
What changed
- Price increase, 40%, Jan 12, 2026
- Before: $1.25 input / $10.00 output per 1M tokens (inferred)
- After: $1.75 input / $14.00 output per 1M tokens
- Existing customers: Not stated.
Cheaper alternatives to OpenAI API
At 12M tokens a month on its top model, OpenAI API costs $200/mo. 1 LLM API costs less:
- Gemini API: $40/mo (Pay-as-you-go Standard paid tier, text only, list prices as of 2026-10-17), covers 85% of OpenAI API; missing or partial: OpenAI-compatible endpoint (partly), Managed fine-tuning, Dedicated model endpoints
OpenAI API alternatives: 3 LLM APIs compared, at every size.
Sources
Every price and change for OpenAI API: OpenAI API.